THE TOWN OF HILTON HEAD ISLAND TOWN COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

Date: Tuesday, March 17, 2020

Time: 4:00 p.m.

Present from Town Council: John J. McCann, *Mayor;* Bill Harkins, *Mayor Pro-Tempore;* Tom Lennox, Marc Grant, David Ames, Tamara Becker, Glenn Stanford *Council Members*

Present from Town Staff: Steve Riley, *Town Manager;* Joshua Gruber, *Assistant Town Manager;* Charles Cousins, *Assistant to the Town Manager;* Scott Liggett, *Director of Public Projects and Facilities;* Shawn Colin, *Director of Community Development;* Brad Tadlock, *Fire Chief;* John Troyer, *Finance Director;* Carolyn Grant, *Communications Director;* Jenn McEwen, *Cultural Affairs Director;* Stephen Ryan, *Staff Attorney* Jennifer Ray, *Deputy Director of Community Development;* Jeff Buckalew, *Town Engineer;* Krista Wiedmeyer, *Executive Assistant/Town Clerk*

Present from Media: Kathrine Kokal, Island Packet

1. Call to Order

The Mayor called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

2. FOIA Compliance

Public notification of this meeting has been published, posted, and distributed in compliance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act and the requirements of the Town of Hilton Head Island.

3. Pledge to the Flag

4. Invocation

Mr. Harkins delivered the invocation.

5. Approval of Minutes

a. Town Council Meeting, January 21, 2020

Mr. Harkins moved to approve. Mr. Stanford seconded. The Town Council meeting minutes from January 21, 2020 were approved by a vote of 7-0.

b. Town Council Special Meeting, February 18, 2020

Mr. Harkins moved to approve. Mr. Stanford seconded. The Town Council Special meeting minutes from February 18, 2020 were approved by a vote of 7-0.

6. Reports from Members of Council

a. General Reports from Council

Mrs. Becker thanked the Beaufort County Sheriff's Office for their prompt response to a matter within her community.

b. Report of the Intergovernmental Committee – Bill Harkins

Mr. Harkins stated that he did not have a report.

c. Report of the Community Services & Public Safety Committee – Marc Grant

Mr. Grant stated that he did not have a report.

d. Report of the Public Planning Committee – David Ames

Mr. Ames stated that he did not have a report.

e. Report of the Finance & Administrative Committee – Tom Lennox

Mr. Lennox reported that at their last meeting during executive session, the Committee met to review information related to the negotiations of the DMO contract.

7. Proclamations/Commendations – None

8. Consent Agenda - None

9. Unfinished Business

a. Revised First Reading of Proposed Ordinance 2020-01

Revised First Reading of Proposed Ordinance 2020-01 to amend Title 16 of the Municipal Code of the Town of Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, the Land Management Ordinance (LMO), Chapters 5 & 10. These amendments commonly referred to as *Zero Lot Line Amendments* as noticed in the Island Packet on October 20, 2019, include changes that provide for General Amendments to several sections in the LMO described on Exhibit "A" to the Ordinance, and providing for severability and an effective date.

Mr. Harkins moved to approve. Mr. Stanford seconded. With little discussion from the members of Council and no discussion from the public, the motion was approved by a vote of 6-1, Mr. Stanford opposing.

10. New Business

a. Consideration of a Resolution – Declaration of a State of Emergency

Consideration of a Resolution of the Town Council of the Town of Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, establishing a State of Emergency in the Town of Hilton Head Island.

Mr. Harkins moved to approve. Mr. Stanford seconded. Mayor McCann asked Mr. Harkins to review and read the Resolution aloud. After discussion by and between the members of Town Council, Mr. Harkins amended his motion to also include "to serve and protect residents and guests" under item number three. Mr. Stanford seconded the amended motion. With discussion from the members of Town Council and the public at large, the motion approving the Resolution as amended was approved by a vote of 7-0.

11. Appearance by Citizens – None

Mayor McCann reported that there would only be one meeting in April. He also vowed to continue supporting local businesses and restaurants throughout this matter.

At 4:30 p.m., Mayor recessed the meeting so the members of Council, Town staff, and public could watch the Governor's press conference.

12. Executive Session

Mr. Riley stated that he had a need to enter into Executive Session for discussion on the following matters: (a) Land Acquisition; discussion of negotiation incident to the proposed sale, lease or purchase of property in the (i) Union Cemetery Road area, (ii) Islander Beach area, and (iii) US 278 Mid-Island area; (b) Legal Matters; discussion of legal matters related to pending, threatened, or potential litigation related to ATAX matters; and (c) Personnel Matters; discussions of appointments of members related to boards and commissions.

At 4:50 p.m., Mr. Harkins moved to enter Executive Session for the items mentioned by the Town Manager. Mr. Stanford seconded. The motion was approved by a vote of 7-0.

At 5:23 p.m. Council returned from Executive Session.

13. Possible actions by Town Council concerning matters discussed in Executive Session

Mr. Grant moved to appoint Julie Martin as a Hospitality Member to the Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee; Annett Sophie as an Architect Member and Judd Carstens as a Landscape Architect Member to the Design and Review Board; Joseph C. Monmonier and William Zurilla to the Parks and Recreation Commission; and Stephen J. Alfred as Attorney Member to the Planning Commission. All appointments to the herein mentioned are new three-year terms, beginning July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2023. Mr. Harkins seconded. The motion was approved by a vote of 7-0.

Mr. Grant moved to reappoint Roger M. Freedman as At-large Member and Richard Thomas as Cultural Organization Member to the Accommodations Tax Advisory Committee; Charles P. Walzcak as Atlarge Member to the Boards of Zoning Appeals; David B. McAllister as Landscape Architect Member to the Design Review Board; Ray L. Kisiah, Jr. as At-large Member to the Parks and Recreation Commission; and Alan Perry as At-large Member to the Planning Commission. All reappointments to the herein mentioned boards, commissions, or committees are three-year terms, beginning July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2023. Mr. Harkins seconded. The motion was approved by a vote of 7-0.

Mr. Grant moved to approve a special one-year extension to T. Peter Kristian as At-large Member and Lavon C. Stevens as At-large Member to the Planning Commission. The special one-year extension will begin on July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021. Mr. Harkins seconded. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-2, Mr. Ames and Mrs. Becker opposing.

14. Adjournment

By unanimous vote, the meeting was adjourned at 5:28 p.m.

Krista M. Wiedmeyer, Town Clerk

Approved: April 28, 2020

John J. McCann, Mayor