THE TOWN OF HILTON HEAD ISLAND TOWN COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

Date: Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Time: 2:00 p.m.

Present from Town Council: John J. McCann, *Mayor;* Bill Harkins, *Mayor Pro-Tempore;* David Ames, Tamara Becker, Marc Grant, Tom Lennox, Glenn Stanford, *Council Members*

Present from Town Staff: Steve Riley, *Town Manager;* Josh Gruber, *Assist. Town Manager;* Shawn Colin, *Director of Community Development;* Krista Wiedmeyer, Exec. Assist/Town Clerk

1. Call to Order

Mayor McCann called the meeting order at 2:00 p.m. By way of roll call, Mayor McCann confirmed the attendance of all members of Council.

2. FOIA Compliance – Public notification of this meeting has been published, posted, and distributed in compliance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act and the requirements of the Town of Hilton Head Island

3. Approval of Agenda

By way of roll call, Council unanimously approved the agenda as written by vote of 7-0.

4. Executive Session

Mr. Riley stated that he had a need to enter Executive Session for a discussion on personnel matters regarding Town Council appointments of Boards, Committees, and Commissions.

At 2:01 p.m. Mr. Harkins moved to enter Executive Session for the matter described by Mr. Riley. Mr. Stanford seconded. By way of roll call, the motion was approved by a vote of 7-0.

At 2:17 p.m. Council returned from Executive Session.

5. Possible action by Town Council concerning matters discussed in Executive Session

Mr. Harkins moved to remove Mr. Palmer Simmons from his appointment to the Hilton Head Island Planning Commission effective immediately with the appropriate notice thereof to be delivered to Mr. Simmons pursuant to Town Code. Mr. Stanford seconded. By way of roll call, the motion was approved by a vote of 7-0.

Mr. Stanford moved to approve the recommendation to the Beaufort County Legislative Delegation reappointing James E. Baker, Jr. to a six-year term as the Town's representative to the Beaufort Jasper Water Sewer Authority Board. The term begins July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2026. Mr. Harkins seconded. By way of roll call, the motion was approved 7-0.

6. Adjournment

By unanimous vote, the meeting adjourned at 2:25 p.m.

Approved: May 12, 2020	
	Krista M. Wiedmeyer, Town Clerk
John J. McCann, Mayor	-