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General information 

The South Carolina Police Officers Retirement 

System (PORS) is a defined benefit retirement plan 

administered by the South Carolina Public Employee 

Benefit Authority (PEBA) for certain public safety 

and other employees of state agencies, public 

school districts, public higher education institutions 

and other local subdivisions of government that 

have joined PORS. This handbook provides a general 

introduction to PORS and its benefits. 

Membership and 

enrollment 

Your employer will initiate the retirement 

enrollment process. You will need to provide a valid 

email address to your employer. Then, you will 

make your plan election when you respond to the 

Retirement Plan Election email you receive from 

PEBA. 

You have 30 days from your date of hire to make 

your decision. If you do not make a selection within 

that time period, you will automatically become a 

member of PORS. 

Membership is mandatory as a condition of your 

employment with a covered employer unless you 

are in a position or classification of employment 

specifically exempted from membership by statute. 

Certain classifications have the option to elect non-

membership within 30 days from their date of hire. 

Your employer should let you know if your 

employment falls into one of these categories. 

Police officers, peace officers, firefighters, coroners, 

magistrates and probate judges are eligible for 

membership in PORS under the following 

circumstances: 

 Police officers A police officer is defined as 

a person who is required by the terms of his 

employment to give his time to the 

preservation of public order; protection of 

life and property; and the detection of 

crime in the state. Police officers must also 

earn at least $2,000 per year and devote at 

least 1,600 hours per year to this work. 

 Coroners and deputy coroners Coroners 

and deputy coroners in a full-time, 

permanent position who meet the above 

requirements are also considered police 

officers. 

 Peace officers A peace officer is a person 

who is employed and certified by the S.C. 

Department of Corrections, the S.C. 

Department of Juvenile Justice or the S.C. 

Department of Mental Health and has the 

status of a peace officer under Section 24-1-

280 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. 

Peace officers must also earn at least 

$2,000 per year and devote at least 1,600 

hours per year to this work. 

 Firefighters A firefighter is a person who 

gives his time to prevention and control of 

property destruction by fire. A firefighter 

must also earn at least $2,000 per year and 

devote at least 1,600 hours per year to this 

work. 

 Magistrates Magistrates appointed 

pursuant to Section 22-1-10 of the South 

Carolina Code of Laws participate in PORS. 

 Probate judges Elected probate judges may 

choose to participate in PORS or they may 

choose to participate in the South Carolina 

Retirement System (SCRS).  

These judicial members of PORS are not subject to 

the 1,600-hour and $2,000 per year requirements. 

Your employer may also be required to submit an 

affidavit certifying that your position qualifies for 

participation in PORS. 

Your PORS membership starts when you earn 

compensation from a covered employer and make 

contributions to your PORS retirement account. You 
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are considered an active member if you are working 

in a PORS-eligible position for a PORS-covered 

employer, earning service credit and making regular 

contributions to a PORS retirement account, and 

you have not retired or terminated from covered 

employment. You must be an active member to be 

eligible for most of the benefits described in this 

handbook.  

Currently, there are two classes of membership: 

Class Two and Class Three.1 Class Two members are 

generally employees who currently have earned 

service credit in PORS or a correlated retirement 

system for a period of service prior to July 1, 2012.  

Class Three members are those members who do 

not currently have earned service in PORS or a 

correlated retirement system for a period of service 

prior to July 1, 2012. A period of withdrawn service 

or a period of participation in the State Optional 

Retirement Program (State ORP) does not count 

toward the earned service credit used to determine 

whether a member is Class Two or Class Three 

unless the member has completed a service 

purchase to establish earned service credit in PORS 

for the period of withdrawn service or State ORP 

participation. 

Employee and employer 

contribution rates 
Members of PORS contribute 9.75 percent of their 

gross pay, tax-deferred, into their PORS retirement 

accounts.  Employer contribution rates to the 

system are set by the PEBA Board each year based 

upon the results of the annual actuarial valuation of 

the system and statutory requirements. 

                                                           
1 Class One membership is no longer applicable. Please contact 
PEBA if you have any questions about Class One benefits. 

Member compensation limit 
The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) imposes a 

federal compensation limit under the Internal 

Revenue Code (IRC), Section 401(a) (17). This limit, 

also referred to as a cap, is placed on the amount of 

annual compensation which may be taken into 

account for purposes of calculating pension 

contributions. Employees who became members of 

PORS or SCRS, or participants in State ORP prior to 

January 1, 1996, are not subject to the annual 

compensation limit. Employees who became 

members or participants in the plans on and after 

January 1, 1996, are subject to the compensation 

limit as adjusted by the commissioner of the IRS for 

increases in the cost of living in accordance with 

Section 401(a)(17) of the IRC. The calendar year 

2018 compensation limit (cap) is $280,000. 

Compensation in excess of this limitation is not 

subject to retirement contributions 

Interest on your PORS account 
Your active PORS account earns 4 percent interest 

compounded annually on your balance as of the 

previous June 30 until you retire or your account 

becomes inactive. An account is considered inactive 

when no contributions have been made in the 

preceding fiscal year and no other active, correlated 

system or State ORP account exists. 

Correlated systems 

PEBA administers several other defined benefit 

retirement systems for public employees and 

officials. Two of these other systems, the South 

Carolina Retirement System (SCRS) and the General 

Assembly Retirement System (GARS), are correlated 

systems with PORS. If you have contributions in 

more than one of these correlated retirement 

systems, your service credit is maintained 

separately within each system; however, your 
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service credit is added together to determine your 

eligibility for a retirement benefit. Although this 

service is combined for eligibility purposes, the 

amount of your benefit from each system is still 

calculated based only upon your service credit in 

that system. 

For example, if you are a PORS member with 10 

years of service credit and were previously a 

member of SCRS with 15 years of service, you would 

be considered to have 25 years of service credit for 

the purposes of determining your eligibility for a 

retirement benefit. 

Designating beneficiaries 

for your account 

The retirement benefits administered by PEBA also 

offer options for you to help provide for your 

survivors in the event of your death. As an active 

member, you have the option to designate three 

types of beneficiaries for your retirement account: 

 Primary beneficiaries for your in-service 

death benefit (see Page 7) or refund of 

contributions (see Page 7). Multiple 

beneficiaries would share equally in a 

survivor monthly benefit; 

 Contingent beneficiaries in case of death of 

the primary beneficiaries. All primary 

beneficiaries must be deceased before any 

contingent beneficiaries will be paid; and 

 Incidental death benefit beneficiaries (see 

Page 7). 

You may name your estate as a beneficiary for your 

account; however, monthly benefit payments 

cannot be paid to an estate. As an active member, 

you may change your beneficiaries at any time 

before retirement. 

Online access to your 

PORS account 

Member Access is PEBA’s online portal that allows 

PORS members to view and update their personal 

information on file with PEBA. It's safe, secure and 

available anytime from anywhere you have internet 

access. 

Active members may: 

 View their designated beneficiary 

information; 

 View their current service credit; 

 View and print their member statement;  

 Change their address; 

 Calculate a benefit estimate; 

 Calculate an unofficial cost estimate to 

purchase service credit; 

 Submit a service purchase request;  

 Submit and view the status of their refund 

application; and 

 Submit and view the status of their service 

retirement application. 

Retired members may: 

 Change their address;  

 Change their tax withholdings;  

 View and print a 1099-R form; 

 View and print an benefit verification letter; 

 View and print an insurance premium 

letter;  

 View their current payment method; 

 View payment history; 

 Change their payment method from paper 

check to direct deposit; and  

 Modify an existing direct deposit account or 

add an additional direct deposit account. 

Inactive members may: 

 View and print their member statement; 

and 

 Change their address. 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/index.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/index.html
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
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If you haven’t registered for Member Access, you 

may do so by selecting the Member Access button 

at www.peba.sc.gov. From there, select the Register 

Now button to start the process. 

Purchasing additional 

service credit 

Active members may establish additional service 

credit for various types of previous employment 

and leaves of absence, and up to five years of non-

qualified service, which is a type of service credit 

not associated with any specific employment. 

Generally, a member on leave without pay from a 

covered employer is not eligible to establish service 

credit of any type. 

You may establish service credit through a lump-

sum payment, a pre or post tax installment service 

purchase or a tax-deferred rollover from an 

Individual Retirement Account (IRA), a 401(k) plan, 

a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(b) plan or a 457 plan. 

The interest rate for an installment service purchase 

is calculated at the prime rate plus 2 percent. 

Installments initiated July 1, 2018, through June 30, 

2019, will be calculated at 6.75 percent. The 

interest rate is fixed for the term of the installment.  

You may establish each type of service credit once 

within a fiscal year. If you are establishing service to 

meet retirement eligibility, contact the Customer 

Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 for 

more information. Payment for service purchases 

must be made in full prior to your retirement date 

or termination from employment. If you are 

terminated from covered employment within one 

year of retirement eligibility, you have five business 

days after the date of termination to purchase any 

service credit that you are otherwise eligible to 

purchase. If you previously established service 

credit for periods of part-time service or previously 

earned service credit for periods of part-time 

service prior to July 1996, you may be eligible to 

establish additional service credit at an additional 

cost. Please contact the Customer Contact Center at 

803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 for more 

information.  

One factor used to determine the cost of most 

types of service purchases is your career highest 

fiscal year earnable compensation. This includes any 

salary earned during a period of withdrawn service, 

regardless if the withdrawn service has been 

established through a service purchase. The cost to 

purchase periods of less than one year will be 

prorated. You may not establish PORS service credit 

for a period of service, other than military service, 

for which you may also receive a retirement benefit 

from another defined benefit retirement plan or for 

a period of service for which you already have credit 

in PORS. You also may not establish PORS service 

credit if doing so would violate Section 415 or any 

other provision of the Internal Revenue Code. 

A Class Three member who purchases a period of 

withdrawn service or State ORP participation for 

any period of covered employment rendered prior 

to July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two 

membership. 

Some types of purchased service may not be used in 

determining eligibility for retiree health insurance. 

If you are covered by the state’s employee health 

insurance program, contact the Customer Contact 

Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 for 

eligibility information. If your employer does not 

participate in the state’s employee health insurance 

program, contact your employer for information 

about insurance in retirement. 

Types of service 

Transfer from SCRS to PORS 
If you are an active member of PORS, you may 

transfer your non-concurrent SCRS service credit to 

your PORS account by paying 5 percent of your 

current earnable compensation for each year 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
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transferred. Your SCRS contributions plus interest 

and non-concurrent service credit are then 

transferred to your PORS account. SCRS earned 

service that is transferred to PORS is considered 

earned service for the determination of the PORS 

minimum service requirement for benefit eligibility. 

Earnings that are associated with the service that is 

transferred from SCRS to PORS are not included in 

the calculation of your average final compensation. 

Public service 
As an active member, you may establish PORS 

service credit for any period of paid public service 

as an employee of the government of the United 

States, a state or political subdivision of the United 

States by making an actuarially neutral payment to 

PEBA. The cost calculation is based in part on your 

current age and service credit, as well as your 

career highest fiscal year earnable compensation at 

the time PEBA receives your service purchase 

request. The cost, which is determined by PEBA’s 

independent actuary, will not be less than 16 

percent of your career highest fiscal year earnable 

compensation for each year purchased.  

Educational service (K-12) 
As an active member, you may establish service 

credit for any period of paid classroom teaching 

consisting of grades kindergarten through 12 in a 

public, private or sectarian school by making an 

actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. The cost 

calculation is based in part on your current age and 

service credit, as well as your career highest fiscal 

year earnable compensation at the time PEBA 

receives your service purchase request. The cost, 

which is determined by PEBA’s independent 

actuary, will not be less than 16 percent of your 

career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 

for each year purchased.  

Military service 
As an active member, you may establish up to six 

years of service credit for any period of military 

service for which you do not already have service 

credit in SCRS, PORS or GARS by making an 

actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. This includes 

service in the United States Army, Navy, Marine 

Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, Select Reserves and 

the Army or Air National Guard. The cost calculation 

is based in part on your current age and service 

credit, as well as your career highest fiscal year 

earnable compensation at the time PEBA receives 

your service purchase request. The cost, which is 

determined by PEBA’s independent actuary, will not 

be less than 16 percent of your career highest fiscal 

year earnable compensation for each year 

purchased. 

Your discharge from service must be under 

conditions other than dishonorable. Under 

guidelines set forth by the Uniformed Services 

Employment and Reemployment Rights Act 

(USERRA), you may also arrange in advance with 

your employer to continue contributing to your 

account while on active duty military leave or make 

the contributions after returning from military leave 

within a period three times longer than your 

military leave, but not more than five years. 

Leave of absence 
Active members on an employer-approved leave of 

absence who return to covered employment within 

four years may purchase service credit for the 

employer-approved leave period for which they do 

not already have service credit, up to a maximum of 

two years per leave of absence. The leave of 

absence must be with an employer covered by one 

of the retirement systems administered by PEBA. 

The cost calculation is based in part on your current 

age and service credit, as well as your career 

highest fiscal year earnable compensation at the 

time PEBA receives your service purchase request. 

The cost, which is determined by PEBA’s 

independent actuary, will not be less than 16 

percent of your career highest fiscal year earnable 

compensation for each year purchased. 
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Workers’ compensation 
You may establish service credit for a period while 

on leave of absence and receiving workers’ 

compensation benefits. The cost is based on 

contributions plus interest using your earnable 

compensation at the time of injury. You may also 

arrange in advance with your employer to continue 

contributing to your account while you are receiving 

workers’ compensation benefits.  

Previously withdrawn PORS 

service 
If you left employment and received a refund of 

your contributions plus interest from PORS, you 

may re-establish this service upon returning to 

active membership. You must repay the amount 

you withdrew plus interest to the date your request 

is received. Previously withdrawn earned service 

that is re-established in PORS is considered earned 

service for the determination of the PORS minimum 

service requirement for benefit eligibility. Please 

note that earnings associated with a re-established 

withdrawal will be considered for possible inclusion 

in the calculation of a member’s average final 

compensation. A Class Three member who 

purchases a period of withdrawn service for any 

period of covered employment rendered prior to 

July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two membership. 

Non-qualified service 
Active members who have five or more years of 

earned service credit may establish up to five years 

of non-qualified service by making an actuarially 

neutral payment to PEBA. The cost calculation is 

based in part on your current age and service credit, 

as well as your career highest fiscal year earnable 

compensation at the time PEBA receives your 

service purchase request. The cost, which is 

determined by PEBA’s independent actuary, will not 

be less than 35 percent of your career highest fiscal 

year earnable compensation for each year 

purchased. 

State ORP service 
Active members may purchase service credit for 

their years of participation in the State Optional 

Retirement Program (State ORP) by making an 

actuarially neutral payment to PEBA. The cost 

calculation is based in part on your current age and 

service credit, as well as your career highest fiscal 

year earnable compensation at the time PEBA 

receives your service purchase request. The cost, 

which is determined by PEBA’s independent 

actuary, will not be less than 16 percent of your 

career highest fiscal year earnable compensation 

for each year purchased. 

State ORP participation that is established in PORS 

is considered earned service for the determination 

of the PORS minimum service requirement for 

benefit eligibility. Please note that earnings 

associated with established State ORP participation 

will not be considered for possible inclusion in the 

calculation of a member’s average final 

compensation. A Class Three member who 

purchases a period of State ORP participation for 

any period of covered employment rendered prior 

to July 1, 2012, will revert to Class Two 

membership. 

In-service death benefits 

Active member incidental 

death benefit 
If, as an active member, you die in service with at 

least one year of service credit and your employer 

provides incidental death benefit coverage, a 

payment equal to your current annual earnable 

compensation will be paid to your beneficiary. If 

your death results from a job-related injury, the 

one-year requirement is waived. 

Amounts paid to your beneficiary are subject to 

ordinary federal and state income taxes. It is up to 

your designated beneficiary to request that state 

taxes be withheld from the payment. PEBA is 

http://www.irs.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/
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required to withhold federal taxes of 20 percent on 

the incidental death benefit payment unless your 

designated beneficiary rolls over the money into 

another qualified retirement plan. A designated 

beneficiary who is a spouse may roll over the 

incidental death benefit payment into an IRA, a 

401(k) plan, a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(b) plan or 

some 457 plans. The South Carolina Deferred 

Compensation Program’s 457 retirement plan does 

not currently accept rollovers from your SCRS 

account. 

A non-spousal beneficiary may roll over the 

incidental death benefit payment into an inherited 

or beneficiary IRA only. 

Your designated beneficiary should check with an 

accountant or a tax advisor about his tax liability, or 

visit the IRS’s website at www.irs.gov and the 

website for the tax agency in the state in which he 

resides. In South Carolina, visit the South Carolina 

Department of Revenue’s website at 

https://dor.sc.gov. 

State agencies and public school districts 

automatically provide incidental death benefit 

coverage to their employees; however, coverage is 

optional for other employers. If an employer elects 

to provide incidental death benefit coverage for its 

employees, the employer must pay the required 

contribution rate for the coverage. 

Accidental Death Program 
This program provides a survivor benefit if your 

employer is covered and you die as a result of an 

injury by external accident or violence incurred 

while undergoing a hazard peculiar to your 

employment while in the actual performance of 

duty, without willful negligence on your part. An 

accidental death benefit payment will be made 

monthly to your surviving spouse for life. If you 

have no spouse or your spouse dies before your 

youngest child has reached age 18, the monthly 

benefit is divided equally among the surviving 

children, each of whom will continue to receive a 

monthly benefit until reaching age 18 or upon 

death, whichever occurs first. If you have no spouse 

or child under age 18, the monthly benefit will be 

paid to your surviving father and/or mother for life.  

State agencies automatically provide Accidental 

Death Program coverage to their employees; 

however, coverage is optional for other employers. 

If an employer elects to provide Accidental Death 

Program coverage for its employees, the employer 

must pay the required contribution rate for the 

coverage. 

Retirement account benefits 
If you die in service as an active member, your 

designated beneficiary will be entitled to receive a 

refund of your employee contributions plus the 

interest earned on your account regardless of your 

age and years of service credit at the time of your 

death. 

Your designated beneficiary will be eligible to 

choose a monthly benefit instead of a refund of 

your employee contributions plus the interest 

earned on your account if: 

 You are a Class Two member with at least 

five years of earned service credit and 

either have at least 15 years of total service 

credit or you are at least 55 years of age at 

the time of your death; or 

 You are a Class Three member with at least 

eight years of earned service credit and 

either have at least 15 years of total service 

credit or you are at least 55 years of age at 

the time of your death. 
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Disability retirement 

benefit 

Who may apply 
Becoming disabled does not automatically qualify 

you for a disability retirement benefit; you must file 

an application and go through the review process. 

You must be in service with a covered employer in 

order to file an application for disability retirement 

benefits. You are considered in service if you have 

not yet retired from PORS and it has not been more 

than one year since you were last on the payroll of a 

covered employer. 

If PEBA does not receive your application while you 

are in service, you will not be eligible to receive any 

disability retirement benefits from PORS. Retired 

members who work for a covered employer are not 

eligible to apply for a disability retirement benefit. 

In addition to being in service, you must also meet 

certain earned service requirements to apply for 

disability retirement benefits. If you are a Class Two 

member, you must have at least five years of 

earned service credit toward retirement unless your 

disability is the result of an injury arising out of and 

in the course of the performance of your job duties. 

If you are a Class Three member, you must have at 

least eight years of earned service credit toward 

retirement unless your disability is the result of an 

injury arising out of and in the course of the 

performance of your job duties. 

Coordination with other benefits  

You may arrange with your employer to make your 

retirement contributions through your employer if 

your disability requires you to be placed in an 

employer-approved leave status while receiving 

workers’ compensation benefits. Doing so will 

ensure that you continue to earn retirement service 

credit during your workers’ compensation leave 

period. Do not wait to apply for a disability benefit 

until your workers’ compensation claim is finalized. 

Many workers’ compensation claims are often 

settled after covered employment has ended. If 

your disability claim is denied, the continuance of 

paying retirement contributions and earning 

retirement service credit may be important to your 

long-term retirement plans. 

How to apply 
You should file your application for disability 

retirement as soon as you become disabled and 

while you are still in service with an employer 

covered by PORS. Either go to the PEBA website at 

www.peba.sc.gov or contact the Customer Contact 

Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to obtain a 

disability retirement packet. When you file your 

disability retirement claim, please complete all of 

the forms in the disability retirement packet. You do 

not, however, need to include any medical records 

from your health care providers. If PEBA receives 

your disability retirement application after you have 

already retired from PORS or more than one year 

after you terminate from all covered employment 

under PORS, you will not be eligible to apply for a 

disability retirement benefit.  

Acknowledgement of receipt 
If you do not receive notification in the mail 

confirming PEBA’s receipt of your application within 

10 days, please contact the Customer Contact 

Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430. If you are 

eligible for service retirement when you become 

disabled, you may apply for a service retirement 

benefit and begin receiving a monthly benefit while 

awaiting determination of your disability claim. You 

will receive only one type of payment, so if your 

disability claim is approved, you will need to decide 

whether to continue to receive your service 

retirement benefit or to begin receiving a disability 

benefit. When filing for both service and disability 

retirement benefits, please note that your disability 

retirement application must be received before 

your service retirement date. 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/index.html
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Processing the claim 
Your medical records will be obtained from your 

health care providers by our disability 

determination provider and evaluated to determine 

the severity and limiting effects of your physical or 

mental impairment. The determination to approve 

or deny your disability retirement claim is made 

after review by a medical board of three physicians. 

Please allow a minimum of three months after all 

required documentation has been received from 

you, your employer and your health care providers 

for your disability application to be processed. If 

you do not receive notification of PEBA’s decision 

within three months, please contact the Customer 

Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430. 

If your claim is denied, you will have an opportunity 

to appeal the denial. You have one year from the 

date of the denial to file an administrative appeal. If 

the final agency determination upholds the denial, 

you may appeal to the Administrative Law Court.  

Effective date of a disability 

benefit 
If your disability retirement claim is approved, the 

effective date for your benefit will be the 30th day 

after your application is received by PEBA or the day 

after your last day on your employer’s payroll, 

whichever is later. 

The disability retirement benefit will be based upon 

your years of credited service projected to age 55 or 

25 years of credit, whichever is less, your average 

final compensation at retirement and the current 

benefit multiplier for service retirement benefits. 

However, the annual benefit may not be less than 

15 percent of your average final compensation. 

Continuing disability review 
A disability benefit, once approved, may be 

discontinued if: 

 You regain a certain earning capacity; or 

 Medical evidence indicates that you are no 

longer disabled; or 

 Your disability benefit was not approved 

following a continuing disability review.  

Periodic medical reexaminations may be required 

up to age 55. If PEBA determines that your disability 

benefit should cease because of an improvement in 

your medical condition, your benefit will stop the 

month of your scheduled continuing disability 

review or the month of PEBA’s decision, whichever 

is later. 

Returning to employment while 

receiving a disability retirement 

benefit 
If you are under age 55 and receiving a PORS 

disability benefit, you should report earnings from 

any gainful (public or private) employment to PEBA 

annually because there is an earnings limitation for 

all employment which is applied on a calendar-year 

basis. You may earn the difference between your 

adjusted average final compensation (AFC) at 

retirement and your disability benefit without 

affecting your benefit. 

Your AFC may be adjusted each year for inflation for 

earnings limitation purposes only. This increase 

generally matches the percentage of the annual 

increase in the Consumer Price Index for Wage 

Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W). These 

adjustments affect the amount you can earn while 

receiving a disability benefit; however, they do not 

affect the amount of your benefit. You will receive a 

letter each February advising you of how much you 

can earn and requesting confirmation of your prior 

year’s earnings. You will have to repay any benefits 
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you received to which you were not entitled. If you 

earn more than the difference between your 

adjusted AFC and your disability benefit, your 

monthly benefit will be reduced or possibly 

canceled. If you return to work with an employer 

covered by one of the retirement systems 

administered by PEBA and your annual earnable 

compensation is equal to or greater than your 

adjusted AFC, your disability benefit ceases and you 

must become an active member of the system. 

After age 55, a disability retiree is subject to the 

same earnings limitation as a service retiree (see 

Page 19). 

Leaving before retirement 

If you leave your job and terminate all employment 

covered by one or more of the retirement systems 

administered by PEBA before you are eligible to 

retire, you have two options concerning your 

contributions: 

 Request a refund of your employee 

contributions plus the interest earned on 

your account; or 

 Leave your funds in your PORS account. 

Your account will continue to accrue 

interest until your account becomes 

inactive. Your PORS account is considered 

inactive when no contributions have been 

made to the account in the preceding fiscal 

year and no other active, correlated system 

or State ORP account exists. 

Request a refund  
If you have terminated all employment covered by 

one or more of the retirement systems 

administered by PEBA and wish to receive a refund 

of your accumulated employee contributions plus 

the interest earned on your account, you must 

submit a refund request in Member Access or 

complete a Refund Request (Form 4101) and return 

it to PEBA. You may submit your refund request 

immediately upon termination; however, by law, 

your refund cannot be paid sooner than 90 days 

after your termination, and may not be paid later 

than six months after the date of your request. If 

you are working for two or more covered employers 

and/or contributing to more than one retirement 

account (i.e., working two jobs and paying into a 

PORS and an SCRS account), you must stop working 

in all correlated systems to request a refund from 

any account. 

If you receive a refund, you forfeit your rights to any 

future service retirement or disability benefit. 

Employer contributions are not refunded. Instead of 

having the refund paid directly to you, you may 

choose to roll over the funds into an IRA, a 401(k) 

plan, a 401(a) eligible plan, a 403(a) plan, a 403(b) 

plan or some 457 plans. The South Carolina 

Deferred Compensation Program’s 457 retirement 

plan does not currently accept rollovers from your 

PORS account. 

PEBA is required to withhold federal taxes of 20 

percent on the taxable portion of any refund that is 

eligible for a rollover but is not transferred directly 

into another qualified retirement plan. If you do not 

take advantage of a rollover as indicated above and 

are under the age of 59 ½ at the time of 

distribution, your distribution will not only be 

subject to regular income tax, but you may also be 

subject to a 10 percent penalty tax on the taxable 

portion of your distribution when you file your 

income tax return, unless certain exceptions apply. 

See Special Tax Rules in IRS Publication 575 and IRS 

Form 5329 for more information on this tax penalty 

and the exceptions to the penalty. 

Be sure to check with an accountant or tax advisor 

regarding your tax liability, or visit the IRS’s website 

at www.irs.gov and the website for the tax agency 

in the state in which you reside. In South Carolina, 

visit the South Carolina Department of Revenue’s 

website at https://dor.sc.gov. 

https://forms.retirement.sc.gov/formGenericGet.do?formNum=web4101.xdp
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p575.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f5329.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f5329.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://www.peba.sc.gov/events/
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Leave funds on deposit  
When you leave your money in your PORS account, 

you retain your years of service credit, which may 

be added to any future service you may accrue 

should you later become employed in a position 

covered by one of the correlated retirement 

systems administered by PEBA. Your account will 

continue to earn interest until it becomes inactive. 

An account is considered inactive when no 

contributions have been made to the account in the 

preceding fiscal year and no other active, correlated 

system account exists. You may apply for a refund 

at a later date or apply for a service retirement 

benefit upon reaching eligibility. No action is 

required if you wish to retain your membership and 

leave your funds on deposit, but it is your 

responsibility to keep PEBA informed of your 

current address as well as any name or beneficiary 

changes. You can make certain updates to your 

account information through Member Access (see 

Page 4 for more information). 

Service retirement 

A good way to begin the planning process for 

retirement is to attend a retirement seminar 

offered by PEBA. Sessions are held regionally in the 

fall. The seminar schedule and registration 

information can be found online at 

www.peba.sc.gov/events.www.peba.sc.gov/events

www.peba.sc.gov/events If you are considering 

retirement, you may obtain a consultation by 

telephone or in person at our office. Simply contact 

the Customer Contact Center at 803.737.6800 or 

888.260.9430 or visit our office. Visitors are seen on 

a first-come, first-served basis. 

When to apply 
You must file an application with PEBA to retire; it is 

not automatic. You may file your application as 

early as six months prior to your desired effective 

date of retirement but no later than 90 days 

afterward. We encourage you to file your 

application as early as possible. Retirement 

applications and other forms are available on the 

PEBA website at www.peba.sc.gov/rforms.html, or 

you may contact the Customer Contact Center at 

803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 to request these 

forms. 

If you do not receive notification of PEBA’s receipt 

of your application within 10 days after submitting 

it, contact the Customer Contact Center at 

803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430. Please do not 

terminate employment until PEBA has verified 

your service credit and you receive written notice 

of your retirement eligibility from PEBA. This 

notice will be sent to you in the mail and is entitled, 

Notification of Retirement Eligibility and Estimated 

Benefit. Benefit estimates may be obtained through 

Member Access or from PEBA, but are projected 

based on information you provide and information 

in PEBA’s records. Benefit estimates are subject to 

change upon review of your account after PEBA 

receives your retirement application. 

Eligibility 
If you meet the following requirements, you are 

considered eligible to retire (see Correlated systems 

on Page 3 if you have an account in more than one 

retirement system). 

Class Two members 

 25 years of service credit on the date of 

retirement, five years of which must be 

earned service credit; or 

 Age 55 or older on the date of retirement 

with five years of earned service credit. 

Class Three members 

 27 years of service credit on the date of 

retirement, eight years of which must be 

earned service credit; or 

 Age 55 or older on the date of retirement 

with eight years of earned service credit. 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/
http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/assets/insurancebenefitsguide.pdf


Police Officers Retirement System Member Handbook 

13 

Retiree health insurance 

eligibility 
The eligibility requirements for a service benefit and 

for retiree health insurance are not the same. If you 

are covered by the state’s health insurance 

program, be sure to read the eligibility 

requirements in the Insurance Benefits Guide or 

contact the Customer Contact Center at 

803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430 for eligibility 

information. If your employer does not participate 

in the state’s employee health insurance program, 

contact your employer for information about 

insurance in retirement. 

Average final compensation 
Your average final compensation, commonly 

referred to as AFC, is an important part of the 

formula used to calculate your retirement benefit. 

If you are a Class Two member, your AFC is the 12 

highest consecutive quarters2 of earnable 

compensation in which you made regular member 

contributions and were earning service credit. An 

amount up to and including 45 days' termination 

pay for unused annual leave at retirement may be 

included in your AFC calculation. For an elected 

official, AFC may be calculated as the average 

annual earnable compensation for the 36 

consecutive months before the expiration of the 

elected official's term of office. 

If you are a Class Three member, your AFC is the 20 

highest consecutive quarters2 of earnable 

compensation in which you made regular member 

contributions and were earning service credit. 

Termination pay for unused annual leave at 

retirement is not included in the AFC calculation. 

                                                           
2 A quarter means a period January through March, April 
through June, July through September or October through 
December. 

Estimated benefit  
One of PEBA’s goals is to start your benefit payment 

as soon as possible so that you are not without 

income once you terminate employment. To make 

this possible, your initial benefit payment does not 

include any credit for unused sick or annual leave, if 

applicable, nor does it include your final earnable 

compensation information. Until all of this 

information is received from your employer, you 

will receive an estimated benefit. 

If you are a Class Two member, after your employer 

submits your final earnable compensation 

information, which is in the form of quarterly 

retirement contributions, PEBA will audit the 

retirement contributions for your 12 highest 

consecutive quarters of earnable compensation. 

Your AFC may be adjusted after the audit if any of 

the contributions included in the AFC calculation 

were for any payments not considered a part of 

your regular earnable compensation base. Your AFC 

will also be adjusted according to statute to include 

payment for your unused annual leave (see Unused 

leave at retirement on Page 14). Your service credit 

will also be adjusted to include credit for up to 90 

days of unused sick leave.  

If you are a Class Three member, you will have 

retirement contributions for your 20 highest 

consecutive quarters of earnable compensation 

audited. You will not receive service credit for 

unused sick leave at retirement, nor will payment at 

retirement for your unused annual leave be 

included in the calculation of your AFC. 

As a result of the information received from your 

employer and the audit of the contributions for 

your highest consecutive quarters of earnable 

compensation, your retirement benefit will be 



Police Officers Retirement System Member Handbook 

14 

finalized. The final amount may be less than, or 

more than, your estimated benefit. 

Service retirement benefit 

calculations  

Class Two members 
The four-step formula below is used to calculate 

your Class Two monthly benefit based on the 

Option A maximum payment plan described on 

Page 15. 

Step 1: Total your 12 highest consecutive 

quarters of earnable compensation and 

allowable annual leave payout and 

divide by 3.3 This equals your AFC. 

Step 2: Multiply the result of Step 1 by 2.14 

percent (0.0214).  

Step 3: Multiply the result of Step 2 by years, 

months and days of service.4 

Step 4: Divide the result of Step 3 by 12. 

Class Two example 

For a Class Two member with 25 years of service 

credit and an AFC of $30,000: 

1. $30,000 ×0.0214 = $642 

2. $642 × 25 = $16,050 

3. $16,050 ÷ 12 = $1,337.50 

The Option A monthly benefit is $1,337.50. 

                                                           
3 The dollar amount of payment for up to 45 days of unused 
annual leave paid by a Class Two member’s last employer at 
retirement may be included before averaging the member’s 12 
highest consecutive quarters of earnable compensation. 
4 Convert months to days and divide the total days by 360 to 
determine a decimal equivalent for partial years. For example, 
25 years, 2 months and 10 days equals 25 years, 70 days (60 

Unused leave at retirement 

Annual leave 
Only an amount up to and including 45 days’ pay for 

unused annual leave from a Class Two member’s 

last termination payment  will be included before 

averaging the member’s 12 highest consecutive 

quarters of earnable compensation (see Step 1 of 

the benefit formula). 

Sick leave 
At retirement, a Class Two member may receive 

service credit for up to 90 days of unused sick leave 

from the member’s last employer at no cost to the 

member (see Step 3 of the benefit formula). This 

service credit cannot be used to establish 

retirement eligibility. Sick leave is reported by a 

Class Two member’s employer after retirement. 

One month of service credit is granted for each 20 

days of sick leave. 

Class Three members 
The following four-step calculation is used to 

calculate your Class Three monthly benefit based on 

the Option A maximum payment plan described on 

Page 15.  

Step 1: Total your 20 highest consecutive 

quarters of earnable compensation and 

divide by 5. This equals your AFC. 

Step 2: Multiply the result of Step 1 by 2.14 

percent (0.0214). 

Step 3: Multiply the result of Step 2 by years, 

months and days of service.5 

Step 4: Divide the result of Step 3 by 12. 

plus 10). 70 divided by 360 equals .19. This amounts to 25.19 
years of service. 
5 6Convert months to days and divide the total days by 360 to 
determine a decimal equivalent for partial years. For example, 
25 years, 2 months and 10 days equals 25 years, 70 days (60 
plus 10). 70 divided by 360 equals .19. This amounts to 25.19 
years of service. 
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Class Three example 

For a Class Three member who has 27 years of 

service credit and an AFC of $30,000: 

1. $30,000 × 0.0214 = $642 

2. $642 × 27 = $17,334 

3. $17,334 ÷ 12 = $1,444.50 

The Option A monthly benefit is $1,444.50. 

Unused leave at retirement 

Class Three members will not receive service credit 

for any unused sick leave at retirement and any pay 

you receive at termination for unused annual leave 

will not be included in the calculation of your 

average final compensation. 

Payment options at 

retirement 

There are three monthly benefit payment options 

available to you at retirement. Select the option 

that best suits your needs. Generally, your payment 

option may not be changed once your benefit is first 

payable. 

Option A  

Maximum retiree only monthly benefit 

This option provides the maximum monthly benefit 

available and will pay you a lifetime benefit based 

on your average final compensation, years of 

service and a multiplier (0.0214). After your death, 

PEBA will return, through a lump-sum payment to 

your beneficiary or your estate, the remaining 

balance of any member contributions and interest 

and any working retiree contributions not 

exhausted through receipt of your benefit during 

your retirement. 

Option B  

100% - 100% joint retiree-survivor 

monthly benefit 

You will receive a reduced (from Option A) monthly 

benefit for life. After your death, the same benefit 

(100 percent of your reduced monthly benefit, 

including granted benefit adjustments) will continue 

throughout your beneficiary’s lifetime. If all of your 

designated beneficiaries predecease you, your 

benefit will revert to Option A, including any benefit 

adjustments granted since your retirement date. 

You may select Option B only if your designated 

beneficiary is your spouse, or you designate 

multiple beneficiaries or a sole beneficiary who is 

not your spouse and who is within the 10-year age 

difference limits allowed by an Internal Revenue 

Code (IRC) formula. The non-spousal limits do not 

apply if the non-spousal beneficiary is older than 

you, or in the case of disability retirement or death 

benefits. If, based on the IRC formula, the adjusted 

age difference for you and a non-spousal 

beneficiary exceeds the IRC limits, Option B would 

not be available to you. You would be able to select 

Option C, however, with no IRC restrictions. 

Option C 

100% - 50% joint retiree-survivor monthly 

benefit 

You will receive a reduced (from Option A) monthly 

benefit for life. After your death, one-half of the 

benefit (50 percent of your reduced monthly 

benefit, including granted benefit adjustments) will 

continue throughout your beneficiary’s lifetime. If 

all of your designated beneficiaries predecease you, 

your benefit will revert to Option A, including any 

benefit adjustments granted since your retirement 

date. 
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Choosing Option B or  

Option C 
If you choose Option B or Option C and name 

multiple beneficiaries, after your death your benefit 

will be divided equally among those beneficiaries. 

The benefit will not change for the remaining 

beneficiaries if one beneficiary dies, either before or 

after the member dies. 

If you select Option B or Option C and all of your 

designated beneficiaries predecease you, your 

benefit will revert to Option A, effective in the 

month following the month the last beneficiary 

died. You must notify PEBA upon the death of a 

beneficiary.
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Approximate amount of Option A monthly benefit at retirement 
The information in the table below is based on Option A. Choosing Option B or Option C to provide a future 

benefit for beneficiaries will reduce the amount of your monthly benefit. 

AFC Years of service 

Additional 
monthly 

benefit for 
each 

additional 
year 

 5 10 15 20 25 27 30 35 40  

$20,000 $178 $357 $535 $713 $892 $963 $1,070 $1,248 $1,427 $36 

$25,000 $223 $446 $669 $892 $1,115 $1,204 $1,338 $1,560 $1,783 $45 

$30,000 $268 $535 $803 $1,070 $1,338 $1,445 $1,605 $1,873 $2,140 $54 

$35,000 $312 $624 $936 $1,248 $1,560 $1,685 $1,873 $2,185 $2,497 $62 

$40,000 $357 $713 $1,070 $1,427 $1,783 $1,926 $2,140 $2,497 $2,853 $71 

$45,000 $401 $803 $1,204 $1,605 $2,006 $2,167 $2,408 $2,809 $3,210 $80 

$50,000 $446 $892 $1,338 $1,783 $2,229 $2,408 $2,675 $3,121 $3,567 $89 

$55,000 $490 $981 $1,471 $1,962 $2,452 $2,648 $2,943 $3,433 $3,923 $98 

$60,000 $535 $1,070 $1,605 $2,140 $2,675 $2,889 $3,210 $3,745 $4,280 $107 

$65,000 $580 $1,159 $1,739 $2,318 $2,898 $3,130 $3,478 $4,057 $4,637 $116 

$70,000 $624 $1,248 $1,873 $2,497 $3,121 $3,371 $3,745 $4,369 $4,993 $125 

$75,000 $669 $1,338 $2,006 $2,675 $3,344 $3,611 $4,013 $4,681 $5,350 $134 

$80,000 $713 $1,427 $2,140 $2,853 $3,567 $3,852 $4,280 $4,993 $5,707 $143 

$85,000 $758 $1,516 $2,274 $3,032 $3,790 $4,093 $4,548 $5,305 $6,036 $152 

$90,000 $803 $1,605 $2,408 $3,210 $4,013 $4,334 $4,815 $5,618 $6,420 $161 

$95,000 $847 $1,694 $2,541 $3,388 $4,235 $4,574 $5,083 $5,930 $6,777 $169 

$100,000 $892 $1,783 $2,675 $3,567 $4,458 $4,815 $5,350 $6,242 $7,133 $178 

$110,000 $981 $1,962 $2,943 $3,923 $4,904 $5,297 $5,885 $6,866 $7,847 $196 

  

https://online.retirement.sc.gov/MemberAccess/welcome
https://forms.retirement.sc.gov/formGenericGet.do?formNum=web7204.xdp
http://www.irs.gov/
https://dor.sc.gov/
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p524/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/publications/p524/index.html
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040sr.pdf
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Post-retirement information 

Monthly benefit payments 
Monthly benefit payments are directly deposited 

into your bank account on the last business day of 

each month. Electronic distribution of monthly 

benefit payments reduces risks and transaction 

costs for both benefit recipients and the retirement 

plan. You may add or change your direct deposit 

information any time by logging into Member 

Access or completing a Direct Deposit Authorization 

(Form 7204).  

Taxes 
The taxable portion of your monthly benefit is 

subject to federal and state income taxes. Since tax 

laws are complex and constantly changing, be sure 

to check with an accountant or a tax advisor about 

your tax liability, or visit the IRS’s website at 

www.irs.gov and the website for the tax agency in 

the state in which you reside. In South Carolina, visit 

the South Carolina Department of Revenue’s 

website at https://dor.sc.gov.  

Additional information for disability 

retirees 

If you are a PORS member who is receiving a 

disability benefit, the disability benefits paid to you 

from PEBA are reported annually on IRS Form 1099-

R as normal distributions for income tax purposes. 

This is in accordance with IRS guidelines, which also 

direct usage of various codes to reflect the taxability 

of a payment, or distribution, for income tax 

purposes. PEBA is required to use a code “7” in box 

7 of your Form 1099-R rather than a code “3” 

because the disability program for PORS members is 

an occupational or job-related disability program 

rather than a total and permanent disability 

program as described in section 72(m)(7) of the 

Internal Revenue Code. A code “7” in box 7 of your 

Form 1099-R means that you are not subject to the 

10 percent tax penalty for early withdrawal because 

you receive your retirement benefits through a 

monthly benefit; however, these benefits should be 

included as ordinary income for tax purposes. 

Although the Form 1099-R you receive from PEBA 

correctly contains a code “7” in box 7, you may also 

receive monthly benefits from the Social Security 

Administration and be considered totally and 

permanently disabled for Social Security purposes. 

If you are considered totally and permanently 

disabled for Social Security purposes, you may 

qualify for the Credit for the Elderly or the Disabled. 

Please refer to Schedule R when completing your 

tax return. You must keep for your records a copy of 

your physician’s statement, which certifies that you 

were permanently and totally disabled on the date 

that you retired. 

Benefit adjustments 
Per current state law, effective each July 1, eligible 

PORS retirees are to receive an annual benefit 

adjustment of 1 percent of their annual benefit up 

to a maximum of $500 per year. The increase will be 

reflected in benefit payments issued on the last 

business day of July since benefits are payable the 

last business day of the month. The earliest you can 

receive a benefit adjustment is the second July 1 

after your date of retirement. 
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Non-working retired member 

incidental death benefit 
As a non-working retiree, if you die and your last 

employer prior to retirement provides incidental 

death benefit coverage (see Page 7), a payment 

based on your service credit will be paid to your 

beneficiaries as follows: 

Class Two 
members’ 
years of  

service credit 

Class Three 
members’ 
years of  

service credit 

Incidental 
death 

benefit  
payment 

10 to 19 years of 
service credit 

10 to 19 years of 
service credit 

$2,000 

20 to 24 years of 
service credit 

20 to 26 years of 
service credit 

$4,000 

25 or more 
years of service 

credit 

27 or more 
years of service 

credit 
$6,000 

 

Amounts paid to your beneficiary are considered 

taxable benefits; therefore, federal taxes will be 

withheld unless your beneficiary rolls over the 

money into another qualified retirement plan. It is 

up to your beneficiary to request that state taxes be 

withheld from the payment. 

Returning to covered 

employment 
To retire, you must first have a complete, bona fide 

severance or termination of employment. After 30 

days of retirement, you may be hired by an 

employer covered by one of the retirement systems 

administered by PEBA. If you return to covered 

employment sooner than 30 consecutive calendar 

days after retirement, your monthly benefit will be 

suspended while you remain employed by a 

covered employer. 

Earnings limitation 

From covered employment: service 

retiree 

If you retire before you reach age 57 and return to 

covered employment, you will be subject to a 

$10,000 per year earnings limitation. This means 

you can earn up to $10,000 per year from covered 

employment and continue to receive your 

retirement benefit. If you continue covered 

employment after earning more than $10,000 in a 

calendar year, your monthly retirement benefit will 

be suspended for the remainder of that year. The 

$10,000 earnings limitation applies regardless of 

your age when you return to covered employment. 

For example, if you retire at age 54 with 27 years of 

service and return to covered employment when 

you are 59 years old, you would still be subject to 

the $10,000 earnings limitation since you retired 

before you reached age 57.  

The $10,000 earnings limitation from covered 

employment does not apply to members who 

retired prior to January 2, 2013, or members who 

retire after age 57. In addition, the limitation does 

not apply to compensation for service as an elected 

official, service as an appointee of the Governor 

with confirmation by the South Carolina Senate or 

service by appointment or election by the General 

Assembly. 

Critical needs school resource officers’ exemption  
Under certain circumstances, a PORS member who 

retired on or before December 31, 2017, may 

return to covered employment without affecting his 

monthly retirement benefit if he is a Class 1 law 

enforcement officer and returns to work with a 

public school district as a critical needs school 

resource officer. The $10,000 earnings limitation 

does not apply if the public school district where 

the retiree is physically working and the covered 

employer for which the member works submit a 

completed School Resource Officer Critical Needs 

Certification (Form 7214) to PEBA. This exemption is 
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effective July 1, 2018, and is contingent upon 

continued approval in each year’s state budget. 

From all employment: disability retiree 

Please see the Returning to employment while 

receiving a disability retirement benefit section on 

Page 10 for information about the calendar year 

earnings limitation for disability retirees. 

Employment status 
Any retired member who is employed by an agency 

that adheres to state personnel policies will be 

exempt from the State Employee Grievance 

Procedure Act. This means your employment is at 

will. If, as a retired member, you return to work for 

an employer that is not governed by state 

personnel policies, you would be subject to your 

employer’s policies regarding employment status 

and rights. 

Working 48 continuous months 
If you return to employment and work 48 

continuous months for a covered employer with an 

annual earnable compensation of at least 75 

percent of the AFC used to calculate your monthly 

benefit, you may elect to cease your monthly 

benefit and become an active member of PORS (or 

SCRS, if applicable). If you become an active 

member again, you have the option to repay some 

or all retirement benefits to receive additional 

service credit for that period of time. When you 

subsequently retire, your monthly benefit will be 

calculated as if you were retiring for the first time. 

TERI participation does not count toward the 48-

month period. If you begin this process for the 

purpose of establishing eligibility for retiree health 

insurance, please contact PEBA for assistance. 

Working retired member 

incidental death benefit 
If you are a working retired member and your 

employer participates in incidental death benefit 

coverage, a payment equal to your current annual 

earnable compensation will be paid to your 

beneficiary if you die while in service. Amounts paid 

to your beneficiary are considered taxable benefits; 

therefore, federal taxes will be withheld unless your 

beneficiary rolls over the money into another 

qualified plan. It is up to your beneficiary to request 

that state taxes be withheld from the payment.  

Working retired member 

contribution rate 
If you return to work for a covered employer after 

you retire, you will contribute the same tax-

deferred percentage of your gross pay into your 

PORS retirement account as an active member. The 

member contribution rate is 9.75 percent. As a 

working retiree, you will not earn additional service 

credit or receive interest on your account. 

Beneficiary and payment 

option changes 

Retired member incidental death 

benefit 

You may change your beneficiary for the incidental 

death benefit at any time regardless of the payment 

option you selected. 

Option A 

You may change your beneficiary for retirement 

benefits at any time. If you have a change in marital 

status (death of spouse, marriage, divorce), you 

may also select a new payment option within five 

years of the qualifying event. 

Option B and Option C 

If all of your beneficiaries predecease you, your 

monthly benefit will revert to Option A effective in 

the month following the month the last beneficiary 

died. You must notify PEBA upon the death of a 

beneficiary. You may then designate a new 

beneficiary under Option A. 

http://www.peba.sc.gov/
http://www.peba.sc.gov/retirement.html
http://www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html
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If you have a change in marital status (death of 

spouse, marriage, divorce), you may also select a 

new payment option and designate a new 

beneficiary within five years of the qualifying event. 

Payment option change limitation 

Your form of monthly payment may not be changed 

more than twice regardless of the number of events 

(death of a designated beneficiary or change in 

marital status) that occur. A reversion to Option A 

after the death of your beneficiary will count as one 

of the two changes. If a second beneficiary 

predeceases you after you have again selected 

Option B or Option C, you will revert automatically 

to Option A; however, no further form of payment 

changes will be allowed. Changes in form of 

payment occurring before January 1, 2001, are not 

included in the limitation provision. 

More information 

Be sure to visit PEBA’s website at www.peba.sc.gov 

for additional information, resources and tools. You 

can also estimate your retirement benefit in 

Member Access. 

PEBA uses various social media platforms to 

communicate with employers, members, the media 

and other stakeholders. We invite you to take 

advantage of these communications tools by liking 

us on Facebook and following us on Instagram, 

Twitter, YouTube and Podbean. We encourage you 

to join the conversation. 

You may also contact PEBA by telephone at 

803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430, by email at 

www.peba.sc.gov/contactus.html or via live chat by 

clicking on the Customer Service Chat Now button 

at the top of the PEBA home page. Please note that 

PEBA does not answer questions about a specific 

individual’s benefits through Live Chat. 



SCPEBA 062018 | Expires 06302019
Data classification: public information

202 Arbor Lake Drive
Columbia, SC 29223

803.737.6800 | 888.260.9430
www.peba.sc.gov

This document does not constitute a comprehensive or binding representation regarding the employee benefits offered by the South 
Carolina Public Employee Benefit Authority (PEBA). The terms and conditions of the retirement benefit plans offered by PEBA are set out 
in the applicable statutes and are subject to change. Please contact PEBA for the most current information. The language used in this 
document does not create any contractual rights or entitlements for any person.
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